Бел | Рус | Eng PDA
news

from 23.04.2020

Belarus calls for honest, open negotiations on fundamental EAEU matters

It is necessary to honestly and openly negotiate and come to terms on matters of fundamental importance for the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU). Prime Minister of Belarus Sergei Roumas made the relevant statement an extraordinary videoconference session of the Eurasian Intergovernmental Council on 23 April.

Sergei Roumas said: “The draft strategic directions [to guide the development of Eurasian economic integration till 2025] are the result of a rather complicated compromise of the sides. However, in the spheres that are crucial to the creation and operation of a genuine economic union we should honestly and openly come to terms in order to avoid repeating the fate of a number of prototypes of the economic union.”

According to the prime minister, only one but most sensitive issue was left unresolved in the course of preparing the draft strategic directions.

Sergei Roumas pointed out that the realization of the Eurasian Economic Union Treaty requires ambitious decisions on advancing integration, on expanding areas of economic cooperation, and on improving institutions of the Eurasian Economic Union.

Sergei Roumas said: “I will not try to evaluate whether the draft strategic directions live up to the premise or not. Many genuinely ambitious proposals of the Eurasian Economic Commission have been ruled out thanks to efforts of individual experts even before they had a chance to be reviewed at a high level. The softest possible wording has been adopted with regard to a number of measures. Only the practice of implementation of the strategic directions will demonstrate how far we can go in various integration spheres.”

The head of government reminded that on 6 December 2018 the heads of state gave instructions to prepare the strategic integration directions for approval by the end of 2019. “Unfortunately, we've broken the deadline. Nevertheless, I hope that the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council will approve the strategic directions during the next session on 19 May,” Sergei Roumas said.


Photos

Бел | Рус | Eng PDA
новость

от 23.04.2020

Сергей Румас призывает честно и открыто договариваться по ключевым для ЕАЭС вопросам

Премьер-министр Беларуси Сергей Румас призывает честно и открыто договариваться в краеугольных для функционирования Евразийского экономического союза сферах. Об этом глава белорусского Правительства заявил сегодня на внеочередном заседании Евразийского межправительственного совета в формате видеоконференции.

"Проект стратегических направлений (развития евразийской экономической интеграции до 2025 года. - Прим.) - это результат достаточно сложного компромисса сторон. Однако в тех сферах, которые являются краеугольными для создания и функционирования действительного экономического союза, мы должны честно и открыто договариваться, чтобы не повторить судьбу целого ряда прототипов экономического союза", - отметил Сергей Румас.

По словам Премьер-министра, при подготовке проекта стратегических направлений остался всего один, но весьма чувствительный вопрос.

Сергей Румас обратил внимание, что реализация Договора о ЕАЭС требует принятия амбициозных решений по развитию интеграции, расширению областей экономического сотрудничества и совершенствованию институтов Евразийского экономического союза.

"Не берусь судить, насколько подготовленный проект стратегических направлений этому посылу соответствует. Многие действительно амбициозные предложения ЕЭК и сторон были усилиями отдельных экспертов исключены, даже не дойдя до рассмотрения на высоком уровне. По целому ряду мер приняты максимально мягкие формулировки, и только практика реализации стратегических направлений покажет, как далеко мы сможем продвинуться в тех или иных интеграционных сферах", - сказал Сергей Румас.

Он напомнил, что главы государств 6 декабря 2018 года поручали представить стратегические направления для утверждения до конца 2019 года. "К сожалению, мы этот срок нарушили. Тем не менее я надеюсь, что на очередном заседании 19 мая Высший Евразийский экономический совет стратегические направления утвердит", - отметил глава белорусского Правительства.

Фото: БелТА


Фотографии